Porcupine Tree: Why did I wait so long to listen to this band?

Porcupine Tree is one of those bands that I’ve heard of, but never really heard.  One of those bands where I figured I should probably listen to them, but never really did, for whatever reason.  I remedied that last week when I ordered their 2002 album In Absentia from Amazon.  (Yes, it’s 2015 and I still buy CDs.  But that’s another blog post!)

Why In Absentia?  It was only $5.99 USD on Amazon, and it got some good reviews.  So, what the heck?  Go for it!  I wasn’t disappointed.

This record has a lot to offer – it’s just Pink Floyd-ish enough, but not too much, and it has just the right amount of metal.  Great riffage (if that’s a word – my computer says it isn’t!)  A few cool instrumental tracks.  Great guitar solos.  Really interesting songwriting.  Some trippy sound effects.  About the only thing I don’t really like is the album cover art, but it goes with the music so I can’t really complain.

I’ve always kinda-sorta liked prog rock.  I have the Yes greatest hits album, which is pretty cool.  I also have every Mars Volta record, my favorite being De-Loused in the Comatorium, their first.  So I’m happy to add some “proggy” Porcupine Tree to the collection, and I’m sure I’ll be grabbing some more of their records.

I also recently got The Raven that Refused to Sing by Steven Wilson, the main man behind Porcupine Tree.  This is also a really enjoyable, even “proggier” record.  (It starts out with a 12-minute song, which begins with a flute solo!)

Steven Wilson is also a bit of an inspiration because he’s someone who’s been successful making his own music.  I don’t ever expect to have any kind of success like that; I’m just saying it’s pretty amazing what one can do on one’s computer, and I’m excited to be a part of it, in whatever small way.

This whole Porcupine Tree / Steven Wilson thing has got me a little more excited about progressive rock.  It’s also because I recently read Rolling Stone’s article on the 50 best prog rock albums.  My next purchase has got to be In the Court of the Crimson King by King Crimson (#2 on the list; I already have #1, which is, you guessed it – Pink Floyd’s The Dark Side of the Moon).  I’m excited to check out King Crimson.  I’m also excited to hear how my own music might benefit from some fresh (albeit old!) influences.

If you’re reading this, what’s your favorite progressive rock record?  Probably nobody’s reading this, but hey, it was fun to write.  Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

